Life changes – not always easy

I recently left my job – I know, not a smart idea in these uncertain economic times. But it was something I felt I had to do. As I transitioned into being at home, I resisted doing thing that might become a routine. After all, I am looking for a new job and expect to be back among the gainfully employed soon. No point in getting too used to being home all day or letting my husband getting too used to having me home.

The only problem was I wasn’t doing ANYTHING productive. Other than job searching, not a lot was being done. I’d had great plans for this down time. I was going to work out everyday, write every day, clean out some closets, you know the usual “To Do List” of the recently unemployed. Nada. Zilch. Nothing to cross off my list.

Then God convicted me that I was not being a good steward of my time. And how could I go to a job interview and present myself as being an organized multi-tasker (And isn’t that what they all want?) when I couldn’t organize my own life or accomplish more than one thing in an entire day. Not good.

The New Testament says in Ephesians 5:15,16 “See then that you walk circumspectly, not as fools but as wise, redeeming the time, because the days are evil.” The dictionary defines circumspectly as being watchful, discreet,  prudent. The second definition is well-considered. A circumspect life is one lived prudently and well-considered. We are to use our time wisely serving God however we find to do so because this life is short. I had to make some changes.

I’m committed to living my life fully, not half way just waiting for the next big thing. “This is the day the Lord has made and we [I] will rejoice and be glad in it. (Psalm 118:24)

Peace and blessings to you all.

