Joy Comes in the Morning

“My days are swifter than a weaver’s shuttle, And are spent without hope.

Oh, remember that my life is a breath! My eye will never again see good.” (Job 7:6,7)

Have you ever felt this way?  I have.  And if we’re honest, so have most of us. Even the most committed Christian can go through a valley from time to time.

Usually, these are brief  periods brought on by circumstances beyond of our control or even by unconfessed sin.  Sometimes  depression is caused by chemical imbalance in the brain and can be treated with medication. I’ve suffered from chemical imbalance as well as the normal trips through the valley, and there are differences.  And sometimes even Christians suffer from clinical depression and need to be hospitalized for treatment.

If you are having any thoughts of suicide, even vague thoughts that things would be better without you, or feel that you just can’t keep going, Please, stop what you are doing and get help immediately. Call your doctor; he/she can determine if you need hospitalization or if medication alone would help.  There are excellent medications available and if the first one doesn’t work, your doctor can help you find one that will. If you don’t want to use prescription drugs, there are herbal remedies that work very well for some people if taken faithfully.  Call your pastor or a Godly counselor. They can help give you the tools you need to work through emotional problems.  And most of all pray.  “Is anyone among you suffering? Let him pray.” James 5:13

For me, there were days I just didn’t have the energy to get out of bed. I thought there was something wrong with me physically, or that’s what I told myself. Even after sleeping 8 or 9 hours, I was still tired all the time.  I had difficulty coping with even the smallest crisis or making decisions. It was affecting my work and my home life.  Finally I went to see the  doctor and he was able to diagnose my problem. He put me on 2 different anti-depressants before finding the right one for me.  It took a few months, but it made all the difference in my life.  A few years ago, I came to the place where I was able to wean off the prescriptions (under doctor supervision) and now I take herbal remedies. With my brain chemistry in balance, now I’m able to hear God. Now I’m able to discern His voice in my decision making processes. Now I can say with confidence “The joy of the Lord is my strength” and  “I can do all things through Christ”.

There should be no shame in saying you need help, the shame is suffering needlessly.  “…Weeping may last for the night, But a shout of joy {comes} in the morning.” Psalm 30:5b (NASB)

Please leave me a comment if you’d like to share your experiences. To read more, please see page “Joy Comes in the Morning”, click on tab at top.

Peace and Blessings.

One thought on “Joy Comes in the Morning

  1. Excellent explanation on depression.

    I have had a new understanding on thoughts of suicide. My former thinking was that suicide was so selfish. However, having fought this fight for the past two years, I know that, for me, the emotional pain was so unbearable, all I wanted was to be free of the pain.

    I am a born again, spirit filled believer and much of my deep pain was having had my faith kicked in the teeth. There, I said it…a Christian admitting doubt and depression. Wow! A double whammy!

    I, too, have sought medical help and am presently taking drugs to sleep. This has helped tremendously.

    Clinging to God has been my salvation. Jesus is not mad at me, but has loved me through this nightmare. The Word is true no matter what and that is my hope. While my circumstances have not changed, I just keep planting the seeds from the Word and expect a bumper crop.

    Like

Comments are closed.