The Joy of Grandparenting

“Grandchildren are the crowning glory of the aged;  parents are the pride of their children.”  Proverbs 17:6 (NLT)

I cannot lie – time with either or both of my grandsons is one of the joys of my life.  Whatever my mood, it always improves at the sight or sound of one of my grandchildren.  There is a joke that grandchildren are God’s reward for not killing your children when they’re teen-agers! Any one who has ever had teen-age kids at home know exactly what I’m talking about. Whatever the reason, grandchildren are God’s precious blessings.

Yesterday I got to spend part of the day with my daughter Rachael, and her son, Braden, shopping for Braden’s 1st birthday present. We looked at toys and tried them out in the store. Braden and I tried on hats while mom was in the bathroom.  What is it that makes an ordinarily sensible woman be willing to make a total fool of herself, in public no less, all to interact with a young child? It’s those tiny little fingers that reach into your heart, intertwine themselves and never let you go. It was such fun. And the best part of all was just being with Braden. I loved it!

I can’t believe he’s almost a year old. This past year has flown by and now he’s starting to walk and trying to talk. Life in my daughter and son-in-law’s household will never be the same.

My older grandson, Christopher, will be 10 in December. That’s harder to believe. It seems only a short time ago that he was Braden’s age, toddling around my house when I would be keeping him. I can still recite most of Sandra Boynton’s books that I read to him. Every day. Repeatedly. Of course that skill is coming in handy now with Braden.  These days Christopher and I exchange email – mine full of questions and I love yous, his short and to the point, ending with “Love you too.” Ten-year boys are not big on writing.

As much fun as it is being a grandparent (I’m Nana to the boys), there is much more. As Christopher’s and Braden’s Nana, I have a responsibility, a command from God. The Apostle Paul when writing to Timothy said “…I call to remembrance the genuine faith that is in you, which dwelt first in your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice, and I am persuaded is in you also.” I Timothy 1:5 (NKJV) Timothy learned the things of God not only from his mother, but from his grandmother. I must teach my grandchildren about Jesus and teach them the Word of God. My son and my daughter each are teaching their children, but as the boys’ grandmother, it’s my job to supplement their teaching, to help and encourage them.

Grandparents are important in a child’s life. I had wonderful, godly grandparents. They quietly lived their faith in the Lord Jesus in front of me, preaching powerful sermons just by their daily lives.  My husband’s maternal grandmother gave him the love and encouragement he too often didn’t receive from his mother.  My dad’s grandmother lived to be almost 100 years old and I remember visiting her when I was a child. I could sense the love and respect my dad had for his Grandma.

Having grandchildren is a blessing I thank God for every day, but I’m awed at the responsibility He’s given me. I thank Him for the examples I’ve had to show me the way. And I thank Him for giving me His Written Word to teach me the things I need to know in order to instill them in my grandchildren.

Peace and Blessings to you all.

Dee

Please leave me a comment and share about your grandchildren or what you learned from your grandparents.

2 thoughts on “The Joy of Grandparenting

  1. I agree that there is a special connection or bond between a child and their grandparents. My grandparents are already gone, but I still love them, think about them, and even still miss them.

    When I found out I was pregnant with my first child, I asked my mother what the best way I could honor my grandparents with my child would be. Her reply was to raise my children in a strong christian home and teach my children about Jesus.

    I know that your grandsons Christopher and Braden will look up to you and have the same special bond as I did with my grandparents. Afterall, you are their daughter.

    Like

Comments are closed.