Perseverance

The Merriam-Webster’s On-line Dictionary defines perseverance as: “the action or condition or an instance of persevering: steadfastness”.  The root word persevere is to continue despite difficulties, opposition, or discouragement. Today is one of those days when I’m struggling.  I’m not discouraged, far from it. I excited about the possibilities that are opening up for me.  I’m more distracted with other things.

Today my husband and I are leaving for a week-end trip and it’d be much easier to just pack and get ready for my trip than to sit at the computer and write. But God called me to write, so write I must do.

“Therefore, my beloved brethren [and sisters], be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that your labor is not in vain in the Lord.” I Corinthians 15:58 (NKJV)

“Be steadfast.” That means even when there are distractions and things the self wants to do, I have to be faithful to do the things I’ve committed to do.

Jesus said “He who is faithful in what is least is faithful also in much; …” Luke 16:10a

If I expect to write and publish books, I must prove myself faithful in the small assignments first. How many times do we disparage the small tasks we’re assigned, not considering they are important to someone else, and our response to them is important to God. God looks on the heart, and when our heart is right before Him regarding the work we’re called to do, whatever that may be, He will bless it.  We are not to despise small beginnings because we don’t always know what is just around the corner or what the end result will be. Only God knows and He is God of  the small and the great. (Read Zechariah 4:10)

So my friends, whatever you are called to do, do it with all your might.

Peace and blessings.

Dee

