Question without Doubt

“Will the Lord cast off forever? And will He be favorable no more? Has His mercy ceased forever? Has His promise failed forevermore? Has God forgotten to be gracious? Has He in anger shut up His tender mercies?” Psalm 77:7-9 (NKJV)

There are times when it feels like God has abandoned us. There are situations where there are no easy answers and we’re just at a loss to understand why. It’s dishonest when Christians try to pretend they never have problems and never question God. We all do it. Questioning God is not the same thing as doubting God. We have a right to question sometimes – and God has the right to not give us the answer we’re wanting at the time we want it.

I have a precious friend whose little grandson has been battling leukemia for more than two years. I read her emails and talk to her on the phone and I feel the pain she and her family are in. Why does a young child have to suffer? Why does an ugly disease have to attack a precious family who love God and trust Him to care for their children? Why have all our prayers for healing not been answered? These are all valid questions and I have no answers.

What I do know is that the God I serve is a loving and just God. I know His written word says that “whatever things you ask when you pray, believe that you receive them, and you will have them.” Mark 11:23 (NKJV) and “Is anyone among you sick? Let him call the elders of the church, and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord. And the prayer of faith will save the sick, and the Lord will raise him up. James 5:14, 15 (NJKV).

I will keep praying, asking and believing. And I will love my friend. I will listen to her questions and I will pass them on to our Heavenly Father. In due time we will receive.

Peace and blessing to you all.

Dee

