Don’t Forget, but Step Away

Bless the Lord, O my soul; and all that is within me, bless His holy name,”

begins the 103 Psalm.

For years now this has been one of my favorites and often I begin my prayer time with this Psalm. When you read through it, it reminds us of everything we have in Christ.

Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits”

continues the psalmist.  It goes on to list all the things the writer was thankful for – healing, salvation, deliverance, renewal. The word bless means to praise or to speak well of.  The psalmist is speaking well of his God, praising Him for “all his benefits”.  Usually as I pray, I recite the Psalm as written but sometimes I find myself just reciting it, as if by rote not really paying attention to what I’m saying. But when I start sincerely “blessing the Lord” and really thinking about all His benefits in my life, right now, today, that is when I begin to worship the Lord for Who He is.

I know the power of Word based prayers because when we pray back to God His Word, we are in perfect agreement with with His will. But there are times when we need to “step away” from the Word and just lay out our hearts before the Almighty God.

:

