WHY I’M NOT TOTALLY GREY – PART 2

Last week on my post “Why I’m Not Bald and Totally Grey” I talked about praying for my children. It occurred to me that maybe I should share some of the scriptures I used in praying for them, and that I continue to pray for them and for my grandchildren. There are too many to list all in one post so here are some of the ones I used most frequently. I didn’t pray every scripture I knew every day; I just allowed God to lead me and prayed according to the need of that day.

Both of my children came to know the Lord and made Jesus their Savior at an early age, but until they did, I prayed for their salvation.

“They replied, ‘Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved – you and your household.’” (Acts 16:31, New International Version)

Then, I prayed for their obedience to God, and this one is highlighted in all my Bibles. “And all your [spiritual] children shall be disciples [taught by the Lord and obedient to His will], and great shall be the peace and undisturbed composure of your children.” (Isaiah 54:13, The Amplified Bible)

“It is written in [the book of] the Prophets, ‘And they shall all be taught of God [have Him in person for their Teacher].’ Everyone who has listened to and learned from the Father comes to Me-” (John 6:45, The Amplified Bible)

I prayed this over them every day, calling them by name, praying that they would be obedient to the Lord and taught by the Holy Spirit. I continue to pray this for my children and grandchildren still today, that they will be obedient to God.

Next I prayed for their protection, that God would send His angels to watch over them as He’s promised in His Word. And again, this is one I continue to pray for them.

“See that you do not look down on one of these little ones. For I tell you that their angels in heaven always see the face of my Father in heaven.” (Matthew 18:10, New International Version)

“For He will give His angels [especial] charge over you to accompany and defend and preserve you in all your ways [of obedience and service]. (Psalm 91:11, The Amplified Bible)

The most powerful thing we can do for our children is to pray for them. Cover them daily with our prayers, asking God’s protection over them – spirit, soul and body. God’s written Word is His perfect will. When we pray His Word, we are praying in His will. This is how we lay hold of His promises, but it has to be in faith. If we don’t believe His Word true, or that He will keep His Word for us, then it’s to no avail.

The Book of James says, “Only it must be in faith that he asks with no wavering (no hesitating, no doubting). For the one who weavers (hesitates, doubts) is like the billowing surge out at sea that is blown hither and thither and tossed by the wind.” (James 1:6, the Amplified Bible)

There are times when we have to believe the Word more than we believe what we see. Our children may not always act saved, they may not always act like “disciples, taught of the Lord” but that is when we exercise our muscle of faith, and believe God’s Word is true no matter what. I know one young man who was delivered from drugs, all because his mother and father refused to give up. They continued praying and believing God. Today he’s a minister of the gospel.

Beloved, God loves you and He loves your children. What He’s done for others, He’ll do for you.

Peace and blessings.
Dee

