Learning from God

Godly relationships are vital in our walk as Christians. The Bible is clear that we are to assemble ourselves together regularly to study the Word and for worship.


“…not forsaking or neglecting to assemble together [as believers], as is the habit of some people, but admonishing (warning, urging, and encouraging) one another, and all the more faithfully as you see the day approaching”. Hebrews 10:25 (The Amplified Bible)


I just completed an 8-week ladies Bible study where we met each Tuesday evening. There were about 20 of us sharing what we’d learned the past week and with our group discussions, each one gave the others a glimpse into her life. As the weeks progressed, we all became very dear to one another and now we cannot wait for our next session to start again.

In addition to corporate fellowship in church and Bible study groups, God brings individuals into our lives to encourage us and help us grow.


”As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.” Proverbs 27:17 (New International Version)


God has brought several such women into my life during different periods of my life. Those friendships are precious to me and I cherish the times we’ve spent together praying and sharing the Word together. They are all dear sisters and although some of us are separated by miles now, we are still one in the Lord. I continue to pray for them as they do for me.


As much as I cherish those times, with individual friends and group Bible studies, the times I’ve grown the most spiritually have not always felt pleasant as it was happening. It was hard because I felt alone. Of course I had my church and my family, but I was missing that “Paul & Timothy” relationship I was used to having. Now, looking back I see those times too were God ordained. It was in those alone times I had to totally rely on the Holy Spirit to teach me the Word. When you have no one but Jesus to cling to, you learn to cling with all your might.

In the Old Testament, before David became king, he was a keeper of sheep. Alone out with his sheep, he learned to totally trust in God.


“My soul waits in silence for God only; From Him is my salvation.
He only is my rock and my salvation, My stronghold; I shall not be greatly shaken
. Psalm 62:1,2 (New American Standard)


After God anointed him to be king, David went through some hard times. Saul tried to kill him, and later even his own son tried to kill and overthrow him. If David had not learned how to trust in God alone in the field with his sheep, it would have been hard to learn it when men were trying to kill him.

Don’t despise the lonely times; listen for God’s voice and stay in His Word. We don’t always know what God is preparing us for in those times but we can be sure, everything God does in our lives is for a purpose. We just have to trust Him.

Peace and Blessings,

Dee

