In God’s Hands

There is no doubt that we live in troubling times. The economy, flu epidemic, even our personal freedoms are being challenged today. If we only look to the world view for answers or only listen to the network news anchors, it is a pretty bleak picture. But thank God, Christians have a Higher Authority to turn to for answers and He has freely given them to us in His Word.

“My times are in Your hands; deliver me from the hands of my foes and those who pursue me and persecute me.” Psalm 31:15 (The Amplified Bible)

David wrote these words, and he was a man who understood trouble. God anointed him to be king in place of Saul, and Saul repeatedly tried to kill him. David’s own household was a battle ground and his son Absalom tried to dethrone him. The nation was at war almost his entire reign as king. David knew about trouble.
In verse 9 of the Psalm he writes, “Have mercy and be gracious unto me, O Lord, for I am in trouble; with grief my eye is weakened, also my inner self and my body.” He goes on and talks about his strength is failing because of his enemies, he’s being slandered and he is surrounded by terror. But then in verse 14 he repeats his confession that he trusts in God.

“But I trusted in, relied on, and was confident in You, O Lord; I said, You are my God.”

However overwhelming our lives may be, we too can say with David, “You are my God.” His promises never fail. Jesus said He would never leave us or forsake us and we can depend on it.  David knew who his God was and who he was. If we’ve received the Lord Jesus Christ and been filled with the Holy Spirit, we can know who we are and know who God is. Our times are in His hands, He knows our future so we don’t need to worry about it. We just have to trust Him to take us through it.

“O love the Lord, all you His saints! The Lord preserves the faithful, and plentifully pays back him who deals haughtily. Be strong and let your heart take courage, all you who wait for and hope for and expect the Lord!”  (Psalm 31:23,24)

Be strong and let your heart take courage in the Lord.

Peace and blessings through our Lord Jesus Christ,
Dee

