Relationships – God’s Way


The Word of God has much to say regarding our relationship, not only with Him but with others. Marriage, family, friends, fellow believers, worldly people and strangers, God tells us how we are to behave with each one. The Ten Commandments are not just God’s Law to be law, but God’s law on how we are to relate with Him and people.

Jesus makes this pretty clear when He was asked which was the greatest commandment. “Jesus replied: ” ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.” (Matthew 22:37-40)

It’s very distressing when I see individuals who call themselves believers mistreat fellow believers. How can we show God’s love to the world when we fail to even act in love toward one another?

The Apostle Paul writes in Colossians 3:12-14 “Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.” Compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, patience and forgiveness, then above all we are to put on love.

Loving one another doesn’t mean we “feel” a certain way. Sensual love is feeling, but God given, God commanded, Agape love is a verb. It is a way of acting and being. Love does not lie but speaks the truth. Love does not tear down but builds up. Love does not turn away from others’ needs but reaches out. Love does not criticize but looks for the good in others. There is no hypocrisy in love. It’s not just words but it is how we relate to one another.

Father, fill me with Your love today and through the power of Your Holy Spirit let me live it and show it to those You bring into my life every day. Amen

Peace and blessings to you all in our Lord Jesus Christ.
Dee

Read 1 Corinthians 13

2 thoughts on “Relationships – God’s Way

  1. I have mediating on this very thing, Agape Love. There is a person in my life that continually returns “evil for my good”, and the evil is progressing in strength. She can work the phrase “the LORD” into a conversation more than anyone else I know and yet crucify you the whole time she is talking. As I wrestle with this spiritually, I have realized, she is not the problem. Oh yes, she should repent, do right, blah, blah, but the fact is, what do I do with my heart attitude. Frankly, I want to see her punished publicly by God. So much for grace and love. I SURE don’t want to be punished publicly by God. The LORD (my turn) has dealt with me that while I do not be a doormat nor enable, I am to bless and not curse. I am to obey Him no matter, and she is His problem not mine. Here’s a good one on I Cor. 13…Love takes no offense. On that one, I will just have to force my will to obey because my flesh sure doesn’t want to.

    Like

  2. God is love, and Love is God. After all, Christianity is boils down to Love, just like how Jejus showed his love on the cross for us at Calvory. Lot of times, we christians forget our identities in jejus Christ. We are too busy to study God’s word and pray. I know God just want me receive his love and pass onto families, neighbors, and friends, and reach out to the needy. But sometimes, this little or I should say this giant ego gets in the way and rationalize everything,,,,,,,,. Reading your article, I’m reaffirmed that I just need to be more humble, humble, humble. Because I’m very precious in Jejus Christ but I’m nothing in this world, my ego is nothing but my enemy that destroys my relationship with God I really need to discern this matter whom I really worshiping God or My ego.

    Like

Comments are closed.