He’s Coming on a White Horse!

“Now I saw heaven opened, and behold, a white horse. And He who sat on him was called Faithful and True, and in righteousness He judges and makes war.
And He has on His robe and on His thigh a name written: KING OF KINGS AND LORD OF LORDS.” Revelation 19:11, 16

          When I was a little girl, my mother would read to me every day at nap-time and every night before tucking me into bed. My favorite stories were always the ones that ended with the handsome prince riding in on his white stallion and rescuing the princess from the evil witch. He would carry her away to his kingdom and they would live happily ever after. I daydreamed that someday my prince would come carry me away on the back of his beautiful white horse to live in his castle. When my prince did come, he was driving a green Plymouth and we lived in a small apartment!

         The desire to be rescued, or saved, is ingrained in our soul. Try as we might, deep down we know we are incapable of saving ourselves. We all need a savior. The only one capable of saving us is Jesus Christ. “Nor is there salvation in any other, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved.” Acts 4:12

          The first time Jesus came, it was a helpless baby born in a manger. He lived a sinless life, was crucified for our sins, rose from the dead and ascended into heaven. It is only by faith in Jesus Christ and His completed work that we can be saved. We are spiritually born again, saved from eternal damnation for our sins, and saved to eternal life with Him. We are saved from dead works and saved to do good works, not to earn salvation, but to glorify God with our lives.

          And He is coming again! This time it will not be as a helpless baby, but He is coming as KING OF KINGS and LORD OF LORDS! He is coming to judge the nations and to rule His kingdom on the earth. Ever wonder where the idea that the good guys come riding in on white horses came from? Here it is in Scripture. When Jesus returns to establish His kingdom on earth, He and all the saints with Him are coming on white horses! My prince may not have come on a white horse, but my King is!

          “He who testifies to these things says, ‘Surely I am coming quickly.’  Amen. Even so, come, Lord Jesus!” Revelation 22:20

Peace and blessings in our Lord Jesus Christ,
Dee

 

New King James Version
The Holy Bible, New King James Version Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson, Inc.

One thought on “He’s Coming on a White Horse!

Comments are closed.